top of page
  • Writer's pictureMonica Ferrer

1/11/18 Class Lecture: Project 1

Updated: Apr 17, 2018

  • Personal narrative 

  • 1,000 woods minimum 

  • Encounter with a meaningful text within a community where they feel / felt accepted and heard 

  • Community they either currently belong to or have belonged to in the past 

  • Using concepts from the readings and their own observations, students should present a coherent examination of the way the text is an example of a genre in that community and the way that the genre operates I the discourse community to which you have a personal connection 

  • Personal narrative tells a story

    • Story about you including text

    • Text can be anything conveying any sort of message 

  • Uses “I” 

  • Scope and focus: 

    • Be definite, specific, and concrete

  • Subvert: undermine someones authority 

  • Genre is important in this class: genres of communication 

Free Write: 

Write about a place where you felt heard: 

I think that a place where one feels heard is mainly a place where one feels accepted. By feeling accepted, it makes you feel included, and gives you a sense of feeling like you matter. For me, I think that a place where I felt accepted was at the gym. I found myself being unhappy in my body, and always super stressed. The moment I started forcing myself to go to the gym- I became hooked after about a month. When I was younger, I HATED working out. But as I became more open minded, and as I started to see more results, I started realizing that the gym is not just about changing your body, to me, working out has become my therapy. Im always a stressed out mess, and when Im in the gym, and when I leave, my mind feels totally cleared. Its almost like a mental cleanse. Its crazy to think that I used to hate going, but now every day I get excited to go. The gym is where I feel like I am accepted in all of my forms, and I think that everyone who is there also feels the same way, or is working on arriving to that stage. Everyone you see in the gym is working on bettering themselves, either mentally, physically, or both. I think its important to realize that people are not always somewhere for the reason that you think. The big buff guy at the gym might have started his fitness journey because of poor self esteem and has worked his way up. I found myself continuously pushing through, and once I was diagnosed with celiac, I found that the health and fitness journey I thought I had,  my fitness journey had just truly started. 

Write about a place where you felt spoken to:

A place where I felt spoken to was the first time I went to Europe. Two summers ago, I went on a trip to Spain and Italy, and the first stop was Madrid. When my family and I arrived, and we drove to the hotel, I was hypnotize by everything I saw outside of the window. As we kept on exploring the city, all I could think was wow, so much has happened in the world and we are just walking where all these people who created this world and all the things you learned from your history class occurred. While standing in the colloseum I was like wow. Right where I’m standing



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page